S.E.A Write Award

Since 1979, the S.E.A. Write Awards, or the Southeast Asian Write Awards, have been presented annually to poets and writers in Southeast Asia. 


S.E.A Write Award

The awards are given to a writer from a country that is part of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) though not all countries in ASEAN have been represented every year. The award is sometimes given for a specific work by an author and sometimes awarded for lifetime achievement. The types of honoured works vary, and have included poetry, short stories, novels, plays, folklore, and scholarly and religious works.

The ten countries which comprise the ASEAN region are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.


Professor Edwin Thumboo was Chairman for the award for Singapore from its inception to 2012. In 2013, Professor Wong Yoon Wah is the appointed Chairman for the award for Singapore. National Book Development Council of Singapore is the appointed Secretariat for the award.

For more information, please visit www.seawrite.com 

S.E.A Write Award Winners List

1979 Edwin Thumboo 
1980 *Masuri bin Sulikun 
1981 Wong Meng Voon (黄孟文) 
1982 Ma Ilangkannan (M Balakrishnan) 
1983 *Arthur Yap 
1984 Wong Yoon Wah 
1985 *Noor S.I. (Ismail Bin Haji Omar) 
1986 *Paranan (C. Veloo) 
1987 Lee Tzu Pheng 
1988 Leou Pei Ann (Chua Boon Hean) 
1989 Suratman Markasan 
1990 Rama Kannabiran 
1991 *Gopal Baratham 
1992 Cheong Weng Yat 
1993 Muhammad Ariff Ahmad 
1994 *Naa Govindasamy 
1995 Dan Ying (Lew Poo Chan) 
1996 Minfong Ho 
1997 Elangovan 
1998 Abdul Ghani Hamid 
1999 Catherine Lim 
2000 Teoh Hee La (张曦娜) 
2001 K.T. M. Iqbal (Mohamed Iqbal) 
2002 Mohamed Latiff bin Mohamed 
2003 Philip Jeyaretnam 
2004 Soon Ai Ling (孙爱玲) 
2005 P. Krishnan 
2006 Isa Kamari 
2007 *Rex Shelley 
2008 Stella Kon 
2009 Chia Hwee Pheng 
2010 Johar Buang 
2011 Robert Yeo 
2012 Suchen Christine Lim 
2013 Yeng Pway Ngon 
* deceased